The picture I promised

Newly painted sewing machine

Newly painted sewing machine

See this is the sewing machine table. I’m going to attach a shelf just underneath the hole where the old sewing machines would go so that my modern singer can still use the vintage Sears and Roebuck sewing machine cabinet.

The original metal tag

The original metal tag

As this is my second post of the day, I’m going to keep it short and sweet, but I wanted to take a moment to send my thoughts out to KathiD who suffered the loss of one of her doggy companions. Being a lover of all things dog I understand what this is like and I still get choked up thinking about my former companions over the years. Stop by and cheer on one of the funniest women in this blogosphere because its our turn to make her smile today.

6 thoughts on “The picture I promised

  1. Sweetie, last night I cut your material,pinned (with your pins), using the mouse pin cushion (LOVE IT) and sewed at breakneck speed a fantastic apron. It is REVERSIBLE!! I had no PATTERN!! I accidentally CUT the shoulder off before sewing, thinking it was a scrap piece of fabric and I needed to make a “tie” for the apron. So………..after piecing the shoulder back together and cussing myself out, I am ready to take pictures as soon as the sun comes up.

  2. Oh that makes me grin! I’m glad you like the pincushion. I was sitting at my sewing machine one day and needed somewhere to stick a pin with my big pincushion half way across the room and somehow from that need came the idea for a little bitty one that could be stuck to my machine with velcro or something. And then I thought- monkey because everybody needs a pin monkey (bowling reference)

  3. Wait, wait, wait, I just REread your post. Shelf? SHELF??? In your old cabinet to hold a *pant* new machine? Show the process. Every step of the way. You know MY situation right? Old cabinet………

    I measured for a new machine and it was like 16″ long and 14″ high and 9″ wide. While using my old UNIVERSAL last night, at 90mph, I realized that it is actually a HEAVY sucker, all METAL, has lasted nearly 40 years……….OUCH…………..but it’s only about 5″x12″x 8″ high.

  4. SORRY THAT I’M TAKING UP SPACE BUT I CAN’T FIND YOUR EMAIL ADDY;

    I changed the post date on the photos of what I sewed last night. Shhhhhhhh. Due to the post on Bronco, I thought I should save the sewing project for tomorrow. OK?

    love
    dana

  5. I will have to show you if I make it work. It involves removing the shelfy thingies that held the old machines in place.

Leave a Reply

