Thankful

I had another post that I took a long time to write the other day about my aunt. We just found out that the first type of breast cancer that she had ten years ago (she has had it twice- estrogen related 10 years ago and not just a couple of years ago) has metastatized to her lungs. I wrote long and painfully about it and then the internet being all knowing like it is, erased it and now that I’ve gotten it all out I don’t want or need to go back and rewrite it. I will spend as much time as I am able with her while she is still here and pray for a miracle (they said its unlikely that chemotherapy will do any good because its so far advanced) and just love her. She is my mom’s oldest sister and if she dies, the oldest and youngest will have gone to the same foe. I have chosen to be thankful for this time that we have left.

I am also thankful for the friends and family that surround me. Dana, thank you so much for the beautiful card and your encouragement. I will show everyone else as soon as I have pictures. Thanks so much all of you who stop by to listen to me ramble- it means so much to me.

I will have stories and pictures soon of Thanksgiving and the rest of the weekend, but I just got a new toy- an HP All in one printer scanner and copier and I have to get it all set up. Stick with me a little longer and you will be rewarded for your patience.

Also, we got the first real snow of the year last night and I, being a winter baby, need to go soak up my element. 😉 I love Love LOVE the snow!

2 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. I’m glad to know that it only takes EIGHT DAYS for snail mail. Hooray for the internet. Like you, I get all giggly watching the first snowflake fall. Where cancer is concerned, it WILL be eradicated some day, just like polio was. It will, of course, be replaced by something just as evil and incurable. What causes me such anger is all the years since 1949 when they went diligently searching for a cure. You would think there’d be something promising rather than the same old chemo with the idea that “if it doesn’t kill the patient, maybe it will kill the cancer”

    I am SO sorry for your aunt. Give her love, as I”m sure you will.

  2. Thank you so much Dana! Snail mail has its down sides sometimes, but it brings such wonderful things so I’m willing to put up with its vagaries.

Leave a Reply

