Baby Dresses

I found this free pattern from Made By Rae for an adorable baby dress and I knew I had to make it for Little Bit. These terrible cell pics below show the outcome.

The first one I made from some fabric I bought when I first found out I was pregnant. It is lined with a soft white knit fabric under the bodice to be gentle against baby’s skin.

I pleated this one and as seems to be my wont, despite care taken to make it even, I got it a bit off-centered so I added a flower with a button from my grandmother’s sewing supplies in the center. The trim along the bottom of the dress was also courtesy of her saving everything and I’m so thankful to make this dress just that much more heirloom for my little girl than it already was.


The second run through was really quick and dirty because I used a vintage pillow case with a beautiful crocheted trim along the open end for the dress. Its lined with more of the case and it is so sweet in white. I’m debating whether it will get any embroidery in pink to break up all that white and would love some feedback.

6 thoughts on “Baby Dresses

  1. That is super cute! I’m going to be sad if I never get to make things for a baby girl again. I’ll just have to start sewing baby things for gifts!

    • It really is a ton of fun, but I had resigned myself to boy things when I first found out I was pregnant (my husband has 6 brothers with kids and 5 of them have boys for their firstborn) so I actually had found quite a few boy things I wanted to make. I’m happy either way tho- this child is very much wanted 🙂

Leave a Reply

