28 weeks later

In which I do not post about zombies…. But I bet I get a lot of traffic looking for zombies from this post. šŸ™‚

All dressed up for a wedding I photographed last weekend (pictures soon)

Today I have been carrying this little one inside me for 26 weeks, but our wacky medical traditions say I’m 28 weeks pregnant. I can live with that- it sure feels like I’ve been doing this for 7 months. I am loving it, the movements, hiccups, watching my belly grow and knowing that the little one is growing right along with it. I don’t love the sore hips however or the Braxton-Hicks contractions (just had one of those as I was typing). I am also not a patient person *AT ALL* so I’m really ready to meet this little lady I have been carrying inside me for so long. Its amazing to be so truly in love with someone you’ve never laid eyes on.

We’ve moved up from random belly bounces now and I can sit and watch the “waves” on my stomach as she twists and turns. I can even feel the occasional hand, foot, elbow or even her head, resting against the palm of my hand when I place it on my belly. She’s nearly up in my ribs now which is a …unique… sensation, but so far the weirdest one is the way she seems to be trying to dig her way out of my cervix… Yeah that’s a bit different.

We’re starting to get stocked up for her arrival now- diapers are building up, the clothes… well lets just say she probably has nearly as many clothes as I do and she hasn’t even made her appearance in the outside world yet ;), I bought not one but two car seats at a garage sale for $12 for the pair and will be taking them to get inspected in the not to0-distant future. I got a stroller for $10- loving these deals btw- and even got a Moby Wrap which I’m honestly more excited about than anything else. A friend of ours whose mother frequents auctions brought us a cute vintage bassinet that will probably be used for dolly storage since the bars aren’t quite spaced right based on current safety standards, but I love it too- its so sweet and small and will go wonderfully with the doll cradle that I will be passing on to her that was made by her great grandfather.

I finally broke down and bought a single pair of maternity jeans, but I still fit comfortably into all my other pants except when I sit down. Then the waistbands are too restrictive but a ponytail holder solves that problem in a jiffy. The problem I’m facing now is that my shirts are getting to be too short so I’ll have to go shopping soon and I really don’t enjoy trying on clothes.

I am thankful for all these things- the fun and not so fun- because they mean that my little one is doing well and my body is preparing itself just as it should be.

Leave a Reply

